The oldest Welsh Society in North America has announced it will be awarding the prestigious Robert Morris Award to Dr. Philip Davies of Scotch Plains, New Jersey, at the 294th Annual Banquet of the Welsh Society of Philadelphia.  Philip is the President of the North America Wales Foundation.  

Previous recipients include Dr. Audrey Evans, Dr. Arturo Roberts, Hefina Phillips, Sir Howard Stringer, Journalist Evan Thomas, Golf Course Designer Rees Lee Jones, Columnist Rowland B. Evans, Secretary Drew Lewis, Dr. Islyn Thomas, Pennsylvania Chief Justice Benjamin Jones, Dr. Roy Slade, US Steel President Benjamin Fairless, Labor Leader John L. Lewis, Governor G. Mennen Williams and other distinguished Welsh men and women.

WSOP President Jack Williams said the award will be presented at the Merion Cricket Club in Haverford, Pennsylvania on Saturday February 26, 2022.  There will be a reception, dinner and music. 

All are most welcome to attend. Reservations may be made by contacting Wynrhys Coghlan at 610-716-2151 or wyncoghlan@aol.com

The 294th Annual Divine Service of The Society will be held Sunday February 27, 2022 at 3:30 pm in the St. David’s Chapel of the Arch Street Presbyterian Church, 18th and Arch, Philadelphia.  A Te Bach will follow.

WSP Draig Garter Rd-Bk Line.png


With a strong and distinguished Welsh population, the Welsh Society of Philadelphia continued to meet and to assist needy Welsh immigrants throughout the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.

More recently, the Welsh Society has led the way among Welsh-American organizations in cultural, philanthropic, and educational programs.

The prestigious Robert Morris Award is presented to a distinguished Welsh-American at the Society’s St. David’s Day banquet.


North American Festival of Wales

September 1-5, 2022

Details to follow

Mae hen wlad fy nhadau yn annwyl i mi



The Welsh Society of Philadelphia

PO Box 7287

Saint Davids, PA 19087-7287





Thanks for contacting us!